ionscifi's picture

Hugo Awards

The 2021 Hugo Awards for best science fiction and fantasy writing have been announced.

Author Martha Wells won in two categories, Best Novel for Network Effect and Best Series for The Murderbot Diaries, to which Network Effect belongs.

ionscifi's picture

BSG Designing Spaceships

Hero Collector have announced the publication next month of Battlestar Galactica: Desigining Spaceships.

The title is undeniably descriptive but doesn't quite say it all:

ionscifi's picture

Oz Writer Receives Award

Xinhua report that Australian author Chris Winspear has received the grand prize Golden Pen in the Writers of the Future awards for his short story, The Trade.

Though he won the prize last year. Because of COVID, the event organisers combined the 2020 and 2021 awards.

The Writers of the Future contest was created by L Ron Hubbard, of Scientology fame.

ionscifi's picture

Brent Spiner's Fan Fiction

Nerdist have interviewed Brent Spiner about his recently released novel, Fan Fiction, which is what they're describing as a comedic noir mystery and fictional autobiography:

ionscifi's picture

Oz Author wins Award

Newsroom NZ reports that Australian born author, Laura Jean McKay, has won the Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction for her novel, The Animals in That Country.

Earlier this year she was awarded the Victorian Prize for Literature.

Presently living in New Zealand, she teaches at Massey University.

Subscribe to Books